Our varieties

The three varieties destined for export are the result of a lineage that goes back millennia. Moroccan expertise and savoir-faire have been passed down from generation to generation in order to offer fruit whose quality is incomparable.

Fine clementine

Round in shape, with a lovely orange colour, this clementine has one of the thinnest peels, a delightful, seedless flesh and a wonderfully fragrant and delicious taste.

Nour clementine

With a rougher, easy-to-peel skin, the Nour has a prominent stalk yet an incredibly sweet taste with very little tartness.

Nadorcott mandarin

With its flattened shape and thin, easy-to-peel skin, the Nadorcott melts in the mouth with a unique taste featuring the perfect balance between sweet and tart.

HOW TO SELECT THE BEST?

Besides its shiny orange colors, the best way to choose your clementine or your mandarine is to gently pick up the fruit. The heavier it is in your hand, the juicier it will be. It should also be firm, with an even peel.

How to keep them?

They’re good for one week at room temperature. If you’ve bought a case, we recommend that you keep some in the refrigerator, to preserve their freshness a little longer. Remember to take them out of the fridge a few hours before you intend to eat any; they’ll be juicier that way.

History of citrus in Morocco

The first traces of citrus date back over 4,000 years. These fruits almost all originate in South East Asia. They ended up travelling the world because of invasions, conquests and explorations. The very first major “wave” occurred in 326 BC, aided by the troops of Alexander the Great.

/Histoire des agrumes du Maroc

In 1497, the discovery of maritime passages in the southern hemisphere brought Asian citrus fruits to Europe. These fruits were then enjoyed and carried by sailors to combat scurvy, the bane of all seafarers. On his second voyage to the New World, Christopher Columbus brought them to the American continent.

Citrus fruits landed on Moroccan soil in the 7th century. The mild climate was ideal for growing this type of fruit. Today, Morocco grows over a dozen varieties produced in different regions of Morocco.

Where does the name “mandarin” come from?

There are various stories about the name’s origin, but all versions have one source in common: the legendary Chinese high officials known as mandarins. Some speculate that the fruit was given the name because it was said that Chinese mandarins, in particular, loved it. Others claim that it’s because the fruit is the same colour as the mandarin’s official robes… there’s even the story that the fruit looks like a mandarin’s face.

Where does the name “clementine” come from?

In the early twentieth century, Father Clement, who worked in the church nursery, discovered a completely different tree thriving among his mandarins. A natural cross between a mandarin flower and orange pollen, the tree provided exceptionally juicy and sweet fruit. Naturally, the fruit was baptised “clementine”; an homage to the man who discovered it.

Regions of production

We are proud to present the regions where Moroccan citrus fruit is cultivated. Each region enjoys exceptional climate conditions that result in fruit with superior taste.

Caption
A 31% Souss Massa
Citrus fruit cultivated: Fine clementine – Nour clementine – Nadorcott mandarin
B 17% Orientale
Citrus fruit cultivated: Fine clementine
C 17% Tadla
Citrus fruit cultivated: Fine clementine – Nour clementine – Nadorcott mandarin
D 21% Gharb
Citrus fruit cultivated:Fine clementine – Nour clementine – Nadorcott mandarin
E 7% Haouz
Citrus fruit cultivated:
Fine clementine Fine – Nour clementine Nour – Nadorcott mandarin

PRODUCTION CALENDAR

Our production of clementines and mandarins stretches from October to April. The Fine clementine is the “early riser”, while the Nour and the Nadorcott mandarin are harvested from January to April.

Agrumes

Les trois variétés d’agrumes destinées à l’exportation sont le fruit d’une lignée qui remonte à plusieurs millénaires. L’expertise et le savoir-faire marocain se sont transmis de génération en génération pour offrir des clémentines et des mandarines d’une qualité incomparable.

La Clémentine Fine

La clémentine Fine a une forme arrondie et une belle coloration orangée. Son écorce est parmi les plus fines et elle possède une chair fondante sans pépins qui libère une saveur parfumée.

La Clémentine Nour

La clémentine Nour a une écorce rugueuse qui se détache très facilement et son pédoncule est proéminent. En bouche, elle libère un jus incroyablement doux avec un très faible taux d’acidité.

La Mandarine Nadorcott

La mandarine Nadorcott a une forme aplatie, une écorce fine et elle est très facile à éplucher. Sa chair libère une saveur originale grâce à un équilibre sucre/acidité des plus parfaits.

Comment bien les choisir?

Outre l’éclat de sa couleur orangée, l’idéal pour choisir vos clémentines et vos mandarines est de les prendre délicatement en main. Plus elles sont lourdes, plus elles sont gorgées de jus. Elles doivent également être fermes avec une écorce uniforme.

Comment bien les conserver?

Les clémentines et les mandarines se conservent une semaine à température ambiante. Si vous en avez acheté une caisse, nous vous conseillons de mettre une partie au réfrigérateur afin que les fruits préservent plus longtemps leur fraîcheur. Il faudra cependant les sortir quelques heures avant de les consommer afin qu’ils soient plus juteux.

Histoire des agrumes du Maroc

Les premières traces d’agrumes remontent à plus de 4000 ans. Ces fruits, presque tous originaires du Sud-Est asiatique, ont voyagé au gré des invasions et des grandes conquêtes du monde. Leur premier grand déplacement s’est produit en 326 av. J.-C grâce aux troupes d’Alexandre le Grand.

De tout temps, les agrumes ont été appréciés pour leur goût,
leur parfum et leurs vertus médicinales.

Histoire des agrumes du Maroc

En 1497, la découverte des passages maritimes de l’hémisphère sud va permettre le déplacement d’agrumes asiatiques vers l’Europe. Ces fruits étaient alors utilisés par les navigateurs pour prévenir et combattre le scorbut. Lors de son deuxième voyage vers le Nouveau Monde, Christophe Colomb permit leur diffusion vers le continent américain.

Les agrumes sont arrivés sur le sol marocain au VIIe siècle. Le climat tempéré de la région était idéal pour la culture des agrumes. Aujourd’hui, il existe plus d’une dizaine de variétés produites dans différentes régions du Maroc.

D’où vient le nom « mandarine »?

Il y a différentes légendes au sujet de sa création, mais toutes les versions ont en commun les hauts fonctionnaires chinois : les mandarins. Certains prétendent que le fruit a été baptisé « mandarine », car les mandarins l’appréciaient particulièrement. D’autres disent que c’est parce que le petit agrume était de la couleur de leur robe d’officier, ou encore parce qu’il rappelait simplement la forme de leur visage.

D’où vient le nom « clémentine »?

Au début du XXe siècle, le père Clément, un religieux pépiniériste, a découvert parmi ses mandariniers un arbre complètement différent. Issu du croisement naturel d’une fleur de mandarinier et du pollen d’oranger, cet arbre fit des fruits incroyablement juteux et sucrés qui furent naturellement baptisés « clémentine », en hommage à celui qui les avait découverts.

Régions de production

C’est avec fierté que nous vous présentons les régions où sont cultivées les mandarines et clémentines du Maroc. Chaque région possède des conditions climatiques exceptionnelles qui permettent d’offrir des fruits aux qualités gustatives de premier ordre.

Légende
A 31% Souss Massa
Agrumes cultivés : Clémentine Fine – Clémentine Nour – Mandarine Nadorcott
B 17 % Orientale
Agrumes cultivés : Clémentine Fine
C 17 % Tadla
Agrumes cultivés : Clémentine Fine – Clémentine Nour – Mandarine Nadorcott
D 21 % Gharb
Agrumes cultivés : Clémentine Fine – Clémentine Nour – Mandarine Nadorcott
E 7 % Haouz
Agrumes cultivés :
Clémentine Fine – Clémentine Nour – Mandarine Nadorcott

CALENDRIER DE PRODUCTION

Notre production de clémentines et de mandarines du Maroc s’étale du mois d’octobre au mois d’avril. La clémentine Fine est la plus précoce et la clémentine Nour ainsi que la mandarine Nadorcott sont récoltées de décembre à avril.