Cultivation

The cultivation of clementines and mandarins is an art, one that demands savoir-faire and experience. Many factors can affect fruit quality. What’s more, favourable climate conditions and rich soil aren’t the only things needed for superior taste. Rigour is also required at all stages of production, packaging and delivery.

The 9 stages of production for clementines and mandarins

Stage 1

Natural selection

Every year, when the fruit flowers, experts from our Research Centre develop cross breeding plans in order to create new hardier varieties from an agricultural and commercial perspective.

graines

icone_culture1

From one generation to the next, our citrus fruits provide delicious taste and have proven more resistant to disease… even as our harvesting calendar expands!

graines

ligne1

ligne2

graines2

ligne2

semis ou greffe

Stage 2

Seedling or transplants

For mandarins, we select the best seeds for sowing. Clementines can be a bit trickier. Seeds and seedlings are often random and because the trees are hybrids, they rarely bear fruit. This is why we multiply our clementine trees by grafting.

ligne3

ligne4

The graft

Part of a clementine tree is grafted to the rootstock of an existing tree. In our orchards, we use the Bitter Orange because it has a very resistant bloom. It takes in the nutrients from the ground through the roots, bringing those nutrients up through the shaft.

culture

Stage 3

Growth

With its cool winters and hot summers, Morocco enjoys the optimal climate for growing citrus fruit. Maintenance, size and abundant watering also go into a flourishing tree. On average, it takes eight years for a tree to produce good fruit.

We trim the branches of our trees in order to form the ideal structure for production. To grow properly, a citrus tree requires:

  • temperatures between 13 °C and 39 °C;
  • a lot of water (1400 mm peryear);
  • low salinity;
  • deep, lightweight soil;
  • soil that’s slightly acidic.

Once it has reached full maturity, the clementine shrub measures four to six metres, and can produce fruit for 15 to 40 years, depending on the species and variety.

ligne5

Floraison

Floraison

Stage 4

Flowering

Trees bloom toward the end of spring and early summer. Flowers are beautiful bouquets of small white, very fragrant flowers. Most grow on the branches of the previous year, while some new branches may show off some buds at their very tips.

A clementine tree can have up to 200,000 blooms.

However, only 1% of these blooms will actually produce fruit that reaches maturity.

ligne7

ligne7

Clementine

Stage 5

First fruits

Pollinating insects, such as bees, deposit pollen on the pistil of the flower. The flowers then lose their petals and the heart of the flower grows. This phase can last from four to six weeks. This is essential to producing a significant amount of viable fruit.

There is about seven months between flowering and harvest.

Floraison

ligne8

ligne8

ligne8

Stage 6

Harvest

Once harvested, the citrus fruit won’t continue to ripen. For superior quality fruit, it is crucial to let nature take its course—to let the fruit ripen on the tree. Contrary to what you might think, colour isn’t always an indication of ripeness, because depending on temperature, a clementine or a mandarin might not be as brightly coloured.

In Morocco, climate conditions are ideal for growing citrus fruits; the days are hot and sunny and the nights are cool. Therefore, our fruit has wonderful colour.

Even when ripe, clementines and mandarins don’t simply fall from the tree the way apples do. They must be picked with shears. This technique means the fruit doesn’t get damaged in the picking process. This allows it to be preserved longer.

ligne9

ligne9

The greater the difference in temperature between day and night, the deeper the colour of the peel.

ligne11

Stage 7

Packaging stations

ligne12

 alt=

ligne13

Once the harvest is complete, the citrus fruit is sent on to one of our packaging stations. This is when we employ extremely rigorous quality controls while sorting the fruit. To do so, we use digital imaging and manual sorting with a blue lamp, in order to spot defects. The fruit is then washed, dried, polished, sized, and packed in various packaging.

This is when we employ extremely rigorous quality controls while sorting the fruit.

Choix des clementines

ligne13

Stage 8

Storage

While the clementines and mandarins await transport, they are stored in refrigerators. We try to keep this waiting time to a minimum so that the fruit can get to your grocery store as quickly as possible.

From orchard to plate, nothing is left to chance.

thermo

ligne7

 alt=

Stage 9

Export

“Premium” citrus that is exported from Morocco must meet numerous criteria:

  • sufficient diameter;
  • perfect shape;
  • colour conformity;
  • no defects.

To maintain the quality of our fruit, our citrus pallets are transported at temperatures between 4 °C and 8 °C. All containers are refrigerated and carefully loaded onboard the boat headed for Canada.

Culture

La culture des clémentines et des mandarines est un art qui demande un grand savoir-faire. De nombreux facteurs influencent la qualité des fruits. Pour qu’ils soient vraiment savoureux, il faut non seulement bénéficier de conditions climatiques favorables et d’un sol riche, mais aussi d’une rigueur lors de toutes les étapes de production, de conditionnement et de livraison.

Les 9 étapes de la production des clémentines et des mandarines

Étape 1

Sélection Naturelle

Chaque année, au moment des floraisons, les chercheurs de notre centre de recherche établissent des plans de croisements afin de développer de nouvelles variétés mieux adaptées d’un point de vue agricole et commercial.

D’une génération à l’autre, nos fruits ont un goût plus savoureux, une meilleure résistance aux maladies et notre calendrier de récolte s’élargit.

graines

icone_culture1

D’une génération à l’autre, nos fruits ont un goût plus savoureux, une meilleure résistance aux maladies et notre calendrier de récolte s’élargit.

graines

ligne1

ligne2

graines2

ligne2

semis ou greffe

Étape 2

Semis ou Greffe

Dans le cas de la mandarine, nous sélectionnons les meilleures graines et nous les semons. Pour la clémentine, même si parfois il y a des pépins, les semis sont très aléatoires. En effet, comme les clémentiniers sont des végétaux hybrides, ils donnent rarement des fruits. C’est pour cette raison que nous multiplions nos clémentiniers par greffage.

ligne3

ligne4

La Greffe

La partie d’un clémentinier est greffée à un arbre existant, le porte-greffe. Dans nos vergers, nous utilisons le bigaradier, un oranger très résistant. Il assimile les nutriments du sol par ses racines et les conduits dans le greffon.

culture

Étape 3

Croissance

Le climat continental du Maroc, avec ses hivers frais et ses étés chauds, est optimal pour la production d’agrumes. L’entretien, la taille et l’arrosage abondant sont autant de gestes qui participent à la bonne croissance de l’arbre. Il faut en moyenne 8 ans pour qu’un arbre produise de beaux agrumes.

Nous taillons les branches de nos arbres pour les orienter et pour former une structure idéale à la production. Pour bien pousser, un verger d’agrumes exige :

  • Des températures entre 13°C et 39°C.
  • Beaucoup d’eau (1400 mm par année)
  • Une salinité faible
  • Un sol profond et léger
  • Une terre légèrement acide

Lorsqu’il a atteint sa pleine maturité, le clémentinier est un arbuste qui mesure de quatre à six mètres. Il peut produire des fruits pendant 15 à 40 ans, selon l’espèce et la variété.

ligne5

Floraison

Floraison

Étape 4

Floraison

La floraison des arbres apparaît de la fin du printemps au début de l’été. Elle se compose de magnifiques bouquets de petites fleurs blanches très parfumées. La majorité d’entre elles poussent sur les branches de l’année précédente, même si certaines nouvelles branches peuvent accueillir des bourgeons qui produisent une ou plusieurs fleurs à leur extrémité.

Le clémentinier peut avoir jusqu’à 200 000 fleurs.

Cependant, seul 1 % de ces fleurs donnera naissance à un fruit qui attendra sa maturité.

ligne7

ligne7

Clementine

Étape 5

Premiers fruits

Les insectes pollinisateurs comme les abeilles déposent du pollen sur le pistil des fleurs, puis les fleurs perdent leurs pétales et le cœur de la fleur commence à grandir. Cette phase dure entre quatre à six semaines. Elle est essentielle pour obtenir de beaux fruits en grand nombre.

Entre la floraison et la récolte, il s’écoule environ sept mois.

Floraison

ligne8

ligne8

ligne8

Étape 6

Récolte

Une fois cueillis, les agrumes ne mûrissent plus. Pour obtenir un fruit d’une qualité inégalable, il est essentiel de ne pas brusquer la nature et de laisser mûrir ce dernier sur l’arbre. Pour évaluer sa maturité — contrairement à ce que l’on pourrait croire —, il ne faut pas se fier à la couleur du fruit, car selon les températures, une clémentine ou une mandarine sera plus ou moins colorée.

Au Maroc, les conditions climatiques sont idéales pour faire pousser des agrumes; les journées sont chaudes et ensoleillées et les nuits sont fraîches. Nos fruits ont donc une coloration exceptionnelle.

Même à maturité, les clémentines et les mandarines ne tombent pas de l’arbre comme le font les pommes. Il faut donc les cueillir au sécateur. Cette technique permet de ne pas endommager les fruits; ils se conservent ainsi plus longtemps.

ligne9

ligne9

Plus l’écart de température entre le jour et la nuit est important, plus l’écorce du fruit sera colorée.

ligne11

Étape 7

Stations de conditionnement

ligne12

 alt=

ligne13

La récolte terminée, les agrumes sont conduits dans l’une de nos stations de conditionnement. Pour ce faire, nous utilisons l’imagerie numérique et le triage manuel avec une lampe bleutée pour mettre en évidence les défauts. Les fruits sont ensuite lavés, séchés, lustrés, calibrés et conditionnés en emballages divers.

C’est à ce moment-là que nous procédons à des contrôles de qualité rigoureux et que nous trions les fruits.

Choix des clementines

ligne13

Étape 8

Stockage

Durant les heures où les clémentines et les mandarines attendent leur transport, elles sont stockées dans des réfrigérateurs. Nous essayons de réduire au maximum cette attente pour que les fruits puissent arriver au plus vite dans votre épicerie.

Pour conserver la qualité de nos fruits, nos palettes d’agrumes sont toujours conservées à des températures situées entre 4 °C et 8 °C.

thermo

ligne7

 alt=

Étape 9

Exportation

Pour pouvoir quitter le Maroc, nos agrumes « premium » doivent répondre à de nombreux critères :

  • Diamètre suffisant
  • Forme parfaite
  • Coloration caractéristique
  • Sans défauts

Tous nos conteneurs sont réfrigérés et sont soigneusement chargés sur un bateau pour venir au Canada.